UCCSN Board of Regents' Meeting Minutes May 31, 1898

05-31-1898

Volume OC - Pages 160-162

Reno, Nevada May 31, 1898

The Board of Regents met at their Office at 10 o'clock A.M., Wednesday, May 31, 1898. Present: W. E. F. Deal, J. N. Evans and H. S. Starrett, also the following members of the Honorary Board of Visitors: Justice Belknap, E. R. Dodge, W. C. Grimes, W. W. Booher, F. M. Huffaker.

President Stubbs requested that he take up his report before proceeding with the regular order of business, which was granted.

Regent Deal offered the following resolution, which was adopted:

WHEREAS, it has been represented to the Board of Regents by the President of the University and the Secretary of the Board that the current expenses payable out of the Contingent Fund, including the salaries of employees payable from said Fund, can be fully met with the money in said Fund until the first day of January, 1899, without reducing the salaries of said employees as directed at the last meeting of the Board;

RESOLVED, that the action of the Board taken at the last meeting, reducing the salaries of said employees be and the same is hereby rescinded.

Minutes of April 8 and 27 were read and approved.

The President and the Faculty recommended that students from the several Departments be graduated as follows, which was ordered.

School of Liberal Arts

Samuel Bradford Doten Dennis Maxwell Duffy Leonard Greeley Ede Loretta Ruth Hickey Helen Keddie Ellen Rosa Lemens Rosalia Murphy

Sadie Phillips

Maud Vera Pruetto

John Jerome Sullivan

John Sunderland, Jr.

Katherine Sunderland

Maud Thompson

Guy Webster Waltz

School of Mines, Bachelor of Science

Wilbur Seymour Everett

John Allen Fulton

Fred Morgan Linscott

William John Luke, Jr.

Donald Robertson Sinlayson

John Wesley Thompson

School of Civil Engineering, Bachelor of Science

Philip Enoch Emery

making 21 from the University.

State Normal School, Four Year Course

Alice E. Breuner

Annie E. Barclay

Lucy Mae Grimes

Louise M. Hinch

May Frances Hogan

Isabel M. Kelley

Minnie M. Lannsburg

Emma Nevada Marx

Nellie B. Robbins

Edna Robeson

Sarah Ryan

Jean Louise Sweetman

Annie Theelan

Minnie S. Wolfo

State Normal School, Grammar Grade Certificates

Thomas Pollok Brown

Clara C. Choate

Lulu Olivia Culp

Marie Delaney

Edith Nevada La Valliene

Sadie Mitchell

Florence Tannahill

The following resolution was adopted:

WHEREAS, the citizens of Reno by the hand of their committee, Dr. W. H. Patterson and Judge A. E. Cheney, have given to the State University a flag staff and three National flags in recognition of the State University;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Regents of the University gratefully acknowledge the generous public spirit of the citizens of Reno, cordially accept their noble gift and herewith direct that, during the University year, the flag shall be hoisted each and every day when the University is open, and on National and State holidays (Sundays excepted).

No further business appearing, the Board adjourned.

J. N. Evans President

Geo. H. Taylor

Secretary